First and foremost, regardless of the state of your account, any file you store in SmartVault is encrypted at all times. So even if you close your account, or your trial ends and you decide not to use SmartVault, any files you've uploaded to SmartVault remain encrypted. For additional information on the encryption used by SmartVault, see our article on SmartVault Security.
We retain the files you store in SmartVault on our servers for a minimum of 90 days—meaning that if you reactivate your SmartVault account within 90 days, you're guaranteed that you will still have access to all of your files in SmartVault. However, after 90 days, we reserve the right to permanently delete any data or files you've stored in SmartVault if necessary. If you decide to reactivate your account after 90 days, you may or may not have access to all of your files in SmartVault.
Your documents are always your property and you can use the SmartVault Drive to copy your files from SmartVault at any time. With a simple cut and paste or drag and drop from the SmartVault Drive, you can archive your documents on a DVD, hard drive, or your desktop.
Additionally, if you have access to the Connected Desktop, you can use the Export Data tool to export your files to a location of your choosing (for example, a network drive or folder on your hard drive).
If you are using our integrated apps for attaching documents to your accounting system, your documents can be copied over as described above, however, the associations with your accounting transactions will be lost.