Home > Support > Knowledge Base and Known Issues > Adobe Acrobat Reader DC - Editing PDF documents in from Connected Desktop prompts to “Save As” instead of saving the document

Adobe Acrobat Reader DC - Editing PDF documents in from Connected Desktop prompts to “Save As” instead of saving the document

Table of contents

Overview

Adobe’s latest reader program (Adobe Acrobat Reader DC) makes it difficult for users of SmartVault to edit PDFs within the Connected Desktop.  After making a change in the pdf document and trying to save it, instead of saving the document, you get a Save As dialogue box prompting you to save the document elsewhere. This makes it impossible to update the original file, unless you save the document locally and then replace the file.

 

2015_Oct_PDF_SaveAs.PNG

Cause

This edition of Adobe's Reader platform introduces a new feature called protected mode.  When protected mode is enabled, it does not allow to re-save documents back in to the Connected Desktop. To resolve this, disable protected mode.

Resolution

To disable protected mode, follow the steps provided in this section.

  • Open Adobe reader DC
  • Go to Edit > Preferences > Security (Enhanced). 
  • Uncheck Enable protected mode at startup and press ok. 
  • Re-open the document from connected desktop and you will be able to save without getting the save as dialogue box.

 

2015_Oct_PDF_ProtectedMode.PNG

 

You must to post a comment.
Last modified
18:27, 2 Aug 2016

Tags

This page has no custom tags.

Classifications

This page has no classifications.