If you are a SmartVault Administrator, you can close your account in the SmartVault Portal. Closing your account means you are cancelling your subscription to SmartVault, and you will no longer be able to login and access your documents.
- Sign into the SmartVault Portal.
Note: Make sure you are using the Advanced View. Cancellation options do not show up under File and Folders.
- Select your account.
- Under Account Task, select Close Account.
- You will be prompted to confirm that you want to close your account. You must check the box to indicate you understand your data will be purged. Click Close Account.
See our security page if you have questions regarding how your data is stored in SmartVault. This article addresses what happens to your data after your account is closed.
Important: When you close your SmartVault account, all documents are deleted. If you use QuickBooks, this includes any documents attached to QuickBooks entries, or notes associated with QuickBooks entries using the SmartVault Toolbar, as well as any QuickBooks company file backups stored in SmartVault.
Please create an archive on your local computer or on a network share of any documents you have stored in SmartVault that you want to keep before you close your account. For more information, see Create a Document Archive.
Note: Due to SmartVault security and privacy policies, only the owner of the account or a SmartVault Administrator in the account can close the account. Employees of SmartVault cannot close your account for you.