Home > SmartVault Dashboard > SmartVault Dashboard How-To Guides > Merge Duplicate Clients in the Client Portal

Merge Duplicate Clients in the Client Portal

Overview

2014_Sept_AppliesToTaxPlans.PNG

After an import job, such as a DMS migration or importing your clients from Lacerte or ProSeries, you might have duplicate clients.


Earlier versions of the DMS migration would create duplicate clients if you used the copy client feature in Lacerte or Proseries. While this issue has been resolved, if your account contains a large number of duplicate clients you can contact support to request an automated resolution to this issue. This automated procedure will merge clients if their names or tax identification numbers (TINs) match.


Under certain conditions, a DMS migration can still create duplicate clients. For example, in the event that a client’s TIN does not match between DMS and Lacerte or ProSeries, this client will be duplicated when imported to SmartVault.


The merge feature is also useful when you create a client in SmartVault before you create the client in Lacerte or ProSeries—often to collect source documents in SmartVault before completing tax work for a new client. 


You can merge any duplicate clients from the Dashboard in the Client Portal.

Steps

  1. Sign in to the Client Portal.
  2. Right click on your account and select View Dashboard.
  3. Click on Clients.
  4. Select two or more clients with duplicate information. These clients must share both the same exact name and tax identifier.
    • A tax identifier is the unique id you assign to your clients in Lacerte or ProSeries. This only applies to clients imported from Lacerte or ProSeries
    • If the clients don't match on both the exact name and the tax identifier, you will receive an error message.


      CP_Unable_to_Merge_Clients.png
      If the clients you attempt to merge have differing names, follow these steps to change one client's name to match the other:
    1. If one of the clients was preexisting before your import, determine which client imported from DMS.
    2. Select the preexisting client in Connected Desktop.
    3. Right click and select Open client in Portal.

      CD_Open_Client_Declan.png
       
    4. Click Edit client.

      CP_Client_Profile_Page_Edit_Client.png
       
    5. Update the client's name field to match the imported client's name exactly and click Save changes when finished.

      CP_Save_Changes_Client_Profile.png
       
    6. Continue with the rest of this guide to finish merging the clients.
       
  5. Select the two (or more) clients to merge and click Merge Clients. This icon is an arrow pointing up.

     CP_Merge_Clients_Selected.png
     
  6. Select the first client on the window that opens and click OK.

    CP_Merge_Clients_Select.png
     
  7. The duplicate clients merge. If each client had additional information, such as an email address, the merged client contains that information as well. 

    CP_Clients_Merged.png
     
You must to post a comment.
Last modified
17:24, 17 Mar 2015

Tags

Classifications

This page has no classifications.