Home > SmartVault Toolbars > SmartVault Toolbar for QuickBooks Desktop > Back Up QuickBooks or Reckon Accounts Company Files > Deleting QuickBooks Company File Backups

Deleting QuickBooks Company File Backups

Overview

Delete old QuickBooks company file backups when you no longer need the backup.

You can manually delete QuickBooks company file backups from the SmartVault portal or using the SmartVault Drive.

Goal

After completing this how-to you will have removed QuickBooks Company file backups from SmartVault.

If you want to delete a QuickBooks company file backup from the SmartVault portal, or SmartVault Drive complete the following steps:

SmartVault Portal Steps

 

  1. Sign in to the SmartVault portal. For more information, see “Signing In to the SmartVault Portal” .

  2. Select the account that contains the QuickBooks company file back up you want to delete, and then browse to the vault that contains the QuickBooks company file backup you want to delete.

  3. Expand Applications > QuickBooks, and then select the name of the QuickBooks company file.

  4. In the center pane, click the white space near the backup name.

    1. Note: Do not click the name of the backup file itself. If you click the name of the backup file, you will be prompted to save or open the file.

  5. In the right task pane, click Delete File.

  6. Click OK.

SmartVault Drive Steps

 

 

  1. Map a SmartVault drive.

    1. Note: You only need to map a SmartVault drive once. However, you must map a drive before you can use the SmartVault Drive to delete a QuickBooks company file backup. 

  2. Using the SmartVault Drive, browse to the account on your SmartVault Drive that contains the QuickBooks company file backup you want to delete.

  3. Open the vault that contains the QuickBooks company file backup you want to delete.

  4. Open the Application\QuickBooks\CompanyFileName\Backups folder, where CompanyFileName is the name of the QuickBooks company file you want to delete.

  5. Right-click the QuickBooks company file backup you want to delete, and then click Delete.

  6. Click Yes to confirm that you want to permanently delete the document.

  7. SmartVault permanently deletes the document.

You must to post a comment.
Last modified
07:47, 4 May 2017

Tags

Classifications

This page has no classifications.