Skip to main content

Customer Center

SmartVault Customer Center

Overview of Sharing Folders and Assigning Permissions

Learn about sharing folders with other users and assigning folder permissions.

You can use SmartVault to securely share folders with other users. You can share folders with users inside your company, such as employees, as well as users outside of your company, such as clients. Only the people that you specify can see the folder and any documents stored in the folder.

When you share a folder with someone, you give them access to the folder with permissions that you specify (read, create, write, and/or delete) for all files within the folder.

For example, when you share a folder with an employee of your company, you will first grant that person a user license, assign them access to a folder, and then decide which permissions they should have.

Note: When you create a new subfolder under a parent folder, the new subfolder inherits it's parent folder's permissions automatically. However, when changing permissions for a parent folder that already has existing subfolders, those subfolders do not automatically acquire the parent folder's permissions unless you use the "Apply changes to..." with the subfolders option. 

Note: You must be a member of the SmartVault Administrators group or Vault Managers group for the vault that contains the documents you want to share before you can share folders. 

Folder Permissions

SmartVault provides the following permissions for you to use when you share a folder:

Full Access

This permission allows users to view the folder, view all the documents in the folder, download any document in the folder, edit the contents of or modify the properties of any document in the folder, upload documents into the folder, and delete the folder or any online document storage in the folder.

Full access is equivalent to being given read, write, create, and delete permissions. 

Read

This permission allows users to view the folder, view all the documents (and document properties) in the folder, and email and download any document in the folder. Users cannot upload a new document. 

Write

This permission allows users to edit the contents and properties of any document in the folder. Users cannot upload a new document. 

  • Users can change the name or description of any document in the folder.
  • Users can open a document using the SmartVault Drive (or a mapped drive from a Mac, iPad, or smartphone), make changes to the document, and save it back to the folder.
  • Users can rename the folder. Guests and clients cannot rename folders even if you give them write permissions, but they can rename files.

Create

This permission allows users to upload documents into the folder.

  • Users can upload a new document to the folder.
  • Guests and clients cannot create folders even if you give them create permissions.
  • Users can create new subfolders inside the current folder.

Delete

This permission allows users to delete the folder or any document stored in the folder.

  • Users can delete any document in the folder.
  • Users can delete the folder itself, as long as the user also has Delete permissions on all the subfolders in the folder hierarchy.
  • Guests and clients cannot delete folders even if you give them delete permissions, but they can delete files.