Customer Center
Help Topics
Self-Help Guides
Home > Archive > Support > New Users > Reference Guide > More about Group Membership Permissions

More about Group Membership Permissions

Overview

Use the Manage Group Members option when you want to use vault-level groups to give users access to every folder and document in the vault without exception. The Group Membership concept is also works in SmartVault Tax plans however, these are primarily handled via the Folder Templates feature in the SmartVault Dashboard for those specific plans.

Feature

You can use the following vault-level groups when you share vaults using the Manage Group Members option:
 
Managers (Vault Managers)
Users in the Vault Managers group have full access to the vault in which they are a manager and can perform the following actions:
View, download, upload, delete, edit document properties, and send links for all of the documents in the vault, including documents attached to QuickBooks or Reckon Accounts entries and stored under the VaultName/Applications/QuickBooks folder structure.
Create and delete folders everywhere in the vault except for under the VaultName/Applications/QuickBooks folder structure. The VaultName/Applications/QuickBooks folder structure is automatically created by SmartVault when you add a QuickBooks or Reckon Accounts company file to SmartVault and is read-only.
Use the SmartVault Toolbar to attach documents to QuickBooks or Reckon Account entries, view and download documents, edit the properties of documents, and add notes to attached to the same.
Add or Provision QuickBooks or Reckon Accounts company files to SmartVault.
Share the vault or any folder in the vault with other users.
– Users in the Vault Manager group cannot see or manage items in other vaults in the account or manage account branding or billing.
 
Only users can be members of this group. Clients and guests invited to the account cannot be members of this group.
 
Full Access
Users in the Full Access group can perform the following actions:
View, download, upload, delete, edit document properties, and send links for all of the documents in the vault, including documents attached to QuickBooks or Reckon Accounts entries and stored under the VaultName/Applications/QuickBooks folder structure.
Create and delete folders everywhere in the vault except for under the VaultName/Applications/QuickBooks folder structure. The VaultName/Applications/QuickBooks folder structure is automatically created by SmartVault when you add a QuickBooks company file to SmartVault and is read-only.
Use the SmartVault Toolbar to attach documents to QuickBooks or Reckon Account entries, view and download documents, edit the properties of documents, and add notes to attached to the same.
 
Users in the Full Access group cannot perform the following actions:
Share the vault or any folders in the vault with other users.
See or manage items in other vaults in the account.
Add or provision QuickBooks or Reckon Accounts company files to SmartVault.
Manage account branding or billing.
 
Users, clients, and guests can be members of this group.
 
Read Only
Users in the Read Only group can perform the following actions:
View, download, edit document properties, and send links for all of the documents in the vault, including documents attached to QuickBooks or Reckon Accounts entries and stored in the VaultName/Applications/QuickBooks folder structure.
Use the SmartVault Toolbar view and download documents attached to QuickBooks or Reckon Accounts entries.
 
Users in the Read Only group cannot perform the following actions:
Upload or delete documents anywhere in the vault.
Create or delete folders anywhere in the vault.
Use the SmartVault Toolbar to attach documents, edit the properties of documents attached to entries, or add notes to QuickBooks or Reckon Account entries.
Share the vault or any folders in the vault with other users.
See or manage items in other vaults in the account.
Add QuickBooks or Reckon Account company files to SmartVault.
Manage custom branding or account billing billing.
 
Users, clients, and guests can be members of this group.

Benefits

The Manage Group Members option allows you to place users, clients, and guests into the vault-level groups that specify what actions users can take in the vault. When you share a vault with another user by adding the user to a vault-level group, the user automatically has the same permissions in all folders and subfolders in the vault without exception.
Note

Any new folders created in the vault, will also inherit permissions from the vault and grant all guests, users and clients access to the folder. To avoid unintentional access, only give Guests access via vault group membership if the vault is specifically for that guest and is not shared with other guest's data.
 

Considerations

SmartVault Administrators and members of other vault-level groups are not included in the list of current users displayed on each tab. However, members of these groups may already have permissions to the vault based on vault-level group memberships. For example, by default, SmartVault Administrators are also Vault Managers for each vault in the account. To see a list of SmartVault Administrators who also have access to the vault, in the Advanced view, in the left pane, select the account, and then in the right pane, click Manage Administrators. Also, for example, any member of the Vault Managers group is already by default a member the Full Access group.

You must to post a comment.
Last modified

Tags

Classifications

This page has no classifications.