Consider a vault like your traditional file cabinet. It even has an icon that resembles the file cabinet in the SmartVault Portal. Once you give someone access to it, they get access to all of the folders within it. If you add new folders, the user has access to those as well.
Vaults are shared using group membership. If you place someone in the group, the user receives the permissions that group grants on each folder in the vault.
Vault group membership is often used for employees of the firm. You may have multiple vaults, but you may not want to give every employee access to every vault. Learn more about Group Memberships. Give access to guests or clients at the vault level if the vault only contains that guests or clients data.
- Once you put a user in a group, you cannot deny them access to a folder in the hierarchy.
- We recommend using groups for your employees.
- If you use the SmartVault for QuickBooks or Reckon Accounts, you also give the user access to the associated folders for the company file (these hold all of the attachments for your QB file).
- Give access to guests or clients at the vault level if the vault only contains that guests or clients data.
- Adding to groups is the easiest way to manage your employees and other users who need access to all the folders in the vault.
This tutorial documents the only method of vault sharing for Business and non-Tax plans.
For both Tax and Accounting plans, the process outlined should only be used in certain situations.
Contact firstname.lastname@example.org for more information.