Customer Center
Help Topics
Self-Help Guides
Home > Product Features > SmartVault Reckon Integration > How To Guides > Sharing Attached Reckon Documents with Clients

Sharing Attached Reckon Documents with Clients

Overview

Use View Access and Notification Settings to share a Reckon Accounts company file to give users the ability to use the SmartVault Toolbar and to access documents attached to Reckon Accounts entries and documents stored in the SmartVault client portal under the VaultName/Applications/QuickBooks folder structure.
 

Guidance

Use the View Access and Notification Settings to give users the ability to use the SmartVault Toolbar to view, download, upload, delete, edit document properties, and attach documents to some, but not all Reckon Accounts entries. These users can also access documents attached to some, but not all Reckon Accounts entries stored in the SmartVault client portal under the VaultName/Applications/QuickBooks folder structure.
 
For example, you can share a Reckon Accounts company file with users in the following ways:
 
  • Allow the user Fred Fallon to use the SmartVault Toolbar to view, download, upload, delete, edit document properties, and attach documents to only entries associated with inventory in Reckon Accounts, and also view, download, upload, delete, and edit document properties for documents only attached to inventory entries using the SmartVault client portal. In the SmartVault client portal, documents associated with inventory Reckon Accounts entries are stored in the Items, ToDos, Vendors, Purchase Orders, Item Receipts, Bills & Credits, and Inventory Adjustments subfolders in the VaultName/Applications/QuickBooks/CompanyFileName/Documents folder structure. Restrict Fred from using the SmartVault Toolbar to work with any other entries in Reckon Accounts or view documents attached to any other entries in Reckon Accounts using the SmartVault client portal.
     
  • Allow the user Gwen Gonzales to use the SmartVault Toolbar to view, download, upload, delete, edit document properties, and attach documents to all entries in Reckon Accounts, and also to view, download, upload, delete, and edit document properties for all documents attached to inventory entries using the SmartVault client portal.

Steps

  1. Sign in to the SmartVault Client Portal.
  2. Expand the vault that contains the Reckon Accounts company file you want to share.
  3. Expand the Applications folder, and then expand Reckon Accounts.
  4. Click the Reckon Accounts company file you want to share.
  5. Click View Access and Notification Settings. SmartVault displays a list of current users in the account who have been given access to the Reckon Accounts company file.
  6. Click Edit.
  7. Click Add User.
  8. Select the user license type.
  9. If you want to share the Reckon Accounts company file with an existing user in the SmartVault account, select the user's email address from the drop down menu.
  10. If you want to share the Reckon Accounts company file with a user who is not currently a user enter an email address and first and last name. Check Send email notification to user and include an optional personal message if you want to alert the user to his or her new access.
  11. Choose the access permissions this user should have. If you want the user to have full access to view, download, delete, and attach documents to entries in the Reckon Accounts company file and view notes associated with entries in the Reckon Accounts company file, click Full Access
  12. Select upload and download notifications for the user.
  13. Click Add.
  14. You can make any final adjustments to access or notification settings on the final window. When finished, click Save Settings to invite the user to have access to the Reckon Accounts company file.

Considerations

If you have shared the vault that the Reckon Accounts company file is in by placing users in vault-level groups using the Manage Group Members option, some of these users may also have access the Reckon Accounts company file based on the groups you placed the users in. However, these users are not displayed in this list. Only users who have been given access to the Reckon Accounts company file using View Access and Notification Settings are displayed in this list. For more information about sharing a vault using the Manage Group Members option, see Sharing Vaults.

You must to post a comment.
Last modified

Tags

This page has no custom tags.

Classifications

This page has no classifications.