Home > Support > New Users > Reference Guide > Recycle Bin and Deleting Files

Recycle Bin and Deleting Files

Overview

When you delete a document or a folder it is moved to the Recycle Bin in the SmartVault Portal where you can recover the item for up to 90 days. After 90 days, the document is purged from your account.  Please contact support if you'd like to recover an item at that point.

Feature

Documents and folders stored in the Recycle Bin are not counted against the storage space allocated for your account.

 

All of the latest SmartVault plans include the Recycle Bin feature. It works at both the folder level and and the file level. It does not work at the vault level because vaults are closed and not deleted.

When to Use

When you have multiple users who have delete permissions on a folder, accidents can happen. It may be that the item is not deleted, but just has been moved inadvertently. If this is the case, then use the Activity Log to find out where it has been moved. The Recycle Bin can only be used in the SmartVault Portal.

Considerations

Permissions needed to Use the Recycle Bin

To use the Recycle Bin, you must meet one of the following requirements:

  • You must be a member of the SmartVault Administrators group.

  • On a Tax Plan, you must be a member of the Employees group.

  • You must be a member of the Vault Managers group or the Full Access group for the vault where the deleted vault or folder was stored.

  • You must have create permissions for the folder that contained the deleted document or for the parent folder that contained the deleted folder. For more information, see Sharing Folders.

You must to post a comment.
Last modified
13:07, 26 Oct 2015

Tags

This page has no custom tags.

Classifications

This page has no classifications.